jump to navigation

Fetch Creatures October 1, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual, Shards of Alara.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback



I’m not sure what people are calling this cycle of creaturs but fetch seems good enough for me. I’ve got to say I’m not sure how I feel about this group. Especially as they relate to mythic rares. 

I don’t play any other trading cards games but I do have some YuGiOh! game for my PSP. From my experience with that game and conversations I’ve had with my local store owner (who sells YuGiOh!) I’m gonna say that this cycle and mythic rares feel very YuGiOh! esk. Sacrificing creatures to bring out other bigger harder to cast monsters isn’t an exact copy, but I’d hate to see magic start to take on characteristics of other games.

With that said these fetch creatures are a great way to get a bad ass creature on the board. It isn’t completely amazing since you have to wait at least one turn before playing the ability.

I think that this cycle was made specifically for the casual player. It gives them mythic rare cards to collect and also gives an ability to get those rare cards into play in an albeit dramatic fashion.

Another thought is that if you are lucky enough to open one of the said mythic rares in a draft then you really will be crossing your fingers to be passed one of the Heralds. I doubt that this will be a very solid strategy since they are so easily killed. You maybe able to pull it off once in a draft but once the word gets out that you have such a devistating combo…

I could be wrong, are these fetch guys better than I’m predicting? You tell me.

Comments»

1. Duncan - October 1, 2008

No, you’re correct in thinking these guys are pretty much filler.

2. gillaux - October 1, 2008

1st turn Llanowar Elf + Forest
2nd turn Dragon’s Herald + Mountain
3rd Turn Festering Goblin + Swamp, Tap Elf, Mountain and Forest, sac all three creatures and get a big ass dragon.

I wouldn’t say that’s impossible, but I wouldn’t build a deck around it.

3. Norm - October 1, 2008

Gilaux, That would be a pretty awesome turn three. But if your opponent is smart enough to see it coming Dragon’s Herald would be dead before it could look sideways.

I’m going to make a casual deck with these guys once I’ve got the cards. We’ll see how it plays out.

4. cadenadebronce3 - October 1, 2008

Fetch heralds should be common… it’s not the forst time we see creatures that make a combo to get a huge creature… and we have never see them in play… may be if they had been faster they cpuld have been awesome in Alara’s Block…

5. DeeGent72 - October 2, 2008

I honestly havent had much of a chance to try these guys out, but I’m a fairly casual player myself. If I can manage to get the cards for one of these guys, I might throw it in a deck and see how they play out. Maybe I’ll throw something together on my MWS decks and play a few rounds.

6. John - October 3, 2008

Easier creatures to use for these fetching would be to use the shadowmoor/eventide one multi-color mana creatures such as tattermunge maniac, zealous guardian and so forth, that way, these herald can be used in a mono-color deck. Of course, I agree with Norm, they are too easy to kill…

7. Proto - March 21, 2009

on turn three even though you bring out something big, you got to remember Oblivion Ring, so hopefully the one you go for has some other special effect. I was only wondering if I could just sac a Woolly Thoctar to the Herald to pull out Godsire, If Oblivion Ring hits him, I am back to square 1 though, 1 Herald.


Leave a comment