jump to navigation

Learn to play MTG: Part 1 April 11, 2008

Posted by Norm in Learn to Play Magic: the Gathering.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

First lets start with this video:

This intro video does a good job of explaining the general concept of the game while touching on the dork/nerd factor of the game. The guy in the video seems a little intimidating, I think it’s because of his hair that comes to a point in the front like a spike. He absolutely plays red. 

Back to the learning. The video does cover general aspects of the game especially what are some good safe cards to buy when getting into the game for the first time. Picking any boosters or pre-constructed decks for a first time player is a good idea. If you are wondering why it is a good idea, let me tell you. There are so many cards in Magic: the Gathering it really blows my mind. I know people who literally know every card and what it does, crazy I know. So the core sets suggested in this video are good place to start because those decks are basically a really good summery of all the cards ever made. There are really dynamic cards mixed with the age old classics. 

Next post I’ll have my review of Learn to Play Magic: The Gathering (Part 2), but if you are like me you aren’t going to want to wait for my reviews of those videos to see them. I’ll be biasing this series off of the six videos on the playmagic.com (follow link and click learn to play for the rest of the videos) site as well as a few other features on that site.  

So click through, start playing and let me know how it goes. 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

