jump to navigation

Shadowmoor Release Recap May 5, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Saturday was the big day and I feel I did pretty well. I took 6th place out of 20 at the release party. Last place for the prizes but given what I opened I think I made the best of it.

The first card I opened was a foil Demigod of Revenge, that kind of sets a positive tone moving forward. The rest of my tournament pack was heavy in black/red hybrid creatures. Boo Ya!

My other big rare was Wilt-Leaf Liege. So I took a hard look at my green white spells before committing to black red. It wasn’t a hard decision because I didn’t have any white creatures of note and my green was sparse.

The only cards I didn’t open were red direct damage or any removal in my colors. I did have bounce in hybrid blue/white, but I decided not to run them. I didn’t want to splash a third mana source because I didnt know how they hybrid would play and I had a lot of four + spells in black and red. In retrospect I would revisit that decision since lack of removal hurt. I did splash blue/black hybrid creatures and spells.

The best deck I saw all day was blue white with Swans of Bryn Argoll. I just couldn’t pulloff an answer for the swans (which would have been moving -1/-1 counters to it). That opponent went 5-0; one big card for him was Plumeveil, a 4/4 for 3, flash, flying, defender. Hard card to kill. Much better than my Ashenmoor Gouger a 4/4 unable to block guy. Those cards are not equal in my opinion. 

My other loss came to almost a mirror match. I had the bigger creatures and he had the removal. I lost 2-1 and we both were mana screwed game three. He beat me by a turn. It was a good matchup.

The best play of the day for me was a turn 5 Demigod of Revenge. Yes I fly over you for 5 with Haste. 

At the end of the day I traded my Wilt-Leaf Liege and some other stuff for two copies of Oona, Queen of the Fae and a Reaper King. I was very happy to pick up those cards although I was surprised to see many Reaper King cards floating around.

 

Comments»

1. Shadowmoor White Blue Hybrid « Casual Magic - May 7, 2008

[…] pretty sure the Flash ability is what makes this guy so strong. If you read my release party post then you know I have respect for this […]


Leave a Reply

