jump to navigation

Shadowmoor Artifacts pt 1 May 13, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
Tags: , , , , , ,

Part of my Shadowmoor exploration, here is my review of selected artifact cards. Found on the full visual spoiler

The Shadowmoor Artifacts have a cycle of color matters static ability cards as well as an exciting new creature type, Scarecrow. There are so many artifacts in this set so I’m going to split up my artifact review into Scarecrow Artifacts and regular artifacts. First, general artifacts because I know you want the Scarecrows more. 

Gnarled Effigy
This was an OK card for me in limited. I would have much rather had cards that gave Wither to all my guys, Corrocive Mentor. But I was able to eliminate or mitigate threats.  

Illuminated Folio
I think this is a great cheap way to draw cards. Reveal the same two lands every turn you have a great way to reiterate your colors and keep the advantage.  

Trip Noose
In the world of untap finding a way to tap a guy is a good thing.  

Umbral Mantle
This was a great ability when people weren’t used to untap. I was able to attack and leave a guy tapped until my opponents attack phase. Opps my guy is bigger and blocking. This also worked well when attacking without blockers.  



1. Ray Zorback - May 14, 2008

This doesn’t have much to do with your immediate post, but I think I found a pretty nice combo and I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. I’m an old “vet” player returning after several years! Any feedback you can give would be really helpful! Thanks!


2. Ray Zorback - May 14, 2008

Nevermind… that combo TOTALLY doesn’t work for a TON of reasons. Oops. lol

3. Duncan Hewes - May 19, 2008

Regarding the Folio, lands are colorless and thus can’t be revealed with it, you really do need to reveal 2 cards that have an impact on the game. Regardless of this, Folio is an amazing card in limited. There’s probably only about 10 cards in the set I would first-pick over it in Shadowmoor draft and most of those are rare.

4. Norman Huelsman - May 25, 2008

Duncan, are you sure lands are colorless? I can’t find something specific about it in the official rules but I am pretty sure lands are their own color type. At least basic lands.

5. Duncan Hewes - May 26, 2008

Yup. I’m sure. A card is all the colors of mana it has in it’s mana cost. Since lands don’t have a cost, they don’t have a color. This is true for all cards which is why Kobolds of Kher Keep, The Pacts(Pact of Negation, Slaughter Pact, etc..), and Evermind all have text to make them their respective colors. This info can be found under “Color” in the glossary of the basic rulebook at http://www.wizards.com/magic/rules/MagicRulebook_10E_EN.pdf.

6. Norm - May 26, 2008

Thanks. I guess it is one of those things that I should have known but didn’t register. In this colors matters set that is a very important bit of rules text.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: