jump to navigation

Blowfly Infestation – The Decklist July 8, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Earlier today I left a comment on Lorwyn Unleased about how I have changed my tune regarding Blowfly Infestation. I built this deck after getting some ideas when I wrote about the card on an earlier post. I asked CopySix (author of Lorwyn Unleashed) if he wanted to compare deck builds for Blowfly Infestation, he promptly posted his on his site and my original Blowfly post.

I put this deck together to play casually and I would make some changes, but overall I like the synergies this deck has. Most of all I think the control factor Blowfly Infestation brings to the table is a force especially with Kulrath Knight. Here is the list:

4 x Corrosive Mentor
2 x Cultbrand Cinder
2 x Dusk Urchins
2 x Glen Elendra Liege
1 x Grief Tyrant
4 x Kulrath Knight
2 x Shriekmaw

1 x Bad Moon
3 x Beseech the Queen
3 x Blowfly Infestation
3 x Fate Transfer
3 x Incremental Blight
4 x Scar
1 x Scarscale Ritual
2 x Gnarled Effigy

23 x Swamp

Now as I said I would make a few changes. Including adding one Liliana Vess as well as Hunter of Eyeblights and Lockjaw Snapper. Unfortunately I didn’t consider anything yet from Eventide. 

CopySix thanks for the comparison and everyone check out Lorwyn Unleashed, make sure you check out his combo with Blowfly Infestation and Nectroskitter.

Comments»

1. CopySix - July 9, 2008

A very nice solid deck that I would be hesitant to go up against.
Good work !

2. Norm - July 10, 2008

So I’ve beat Kithkin Mirrorweave more than once with this deck. It is a little slower but once it can get Blowfly infestation out it can neutralize the board fast. Especially since most decks are playing 1/1 or 2/2 creatures a few -1/-1 counters can really disrupt the game plan.

hmm. I don’t think that this is going to be block competitive but could be a surprise if it can beat the control.

3. Duncan - July 10, 2008

The problem with it is that it has no way of beating Faeries, the top deck in the format. I’d splash green and maybe red for Firespout. I mean, it’s not like it’s gonna be a problem with all the mana-fixing running around(I’m looking at you Reflecting Pool).

4. Gary Lohkamp - January 19, 2009

Necroskitters are a MUST in a -1/-1 based deck.

I play a -1/-1 deck, and really, dont have any hard hitting creatures. But i do get to take control of my opponents creatures without needing liliana vess.

soul snuffers are also nice to have a couple of, for clearing the board of */1’s.

My deck build is:

2x Soul Snuffers
3x Necroskitter
2X Torture
2x Blowfly Infestation
2x Diabolic Tutor
2x Incremental Blight

2x Quillspike

2x Scar
2x Everlasting Torment

4x Mothdust Changeling
3x Robe of Mirror
3x Cancel
3x Boomerang
4x Oona’s Gatewarden
3x Leech Bonder
4x Scarscale Ritual
2x Fate Tansfer

2x Tatterkite
2x Chainbreaker
1x Grim Poppet

12x Island
14x Swamp

Granted, it is a 75 card deck. But it plays very well.

Tatterkites + Everlasting Torment make for 2/1 flyers that take no damage. The boomeangs and robe of mirrors are in there to protect yourself from when your blowfly infestation gets out of hand, and Grim Poppet and blowfly infestation make a wonderful combo.

So there you have it, a Black/Blue wither deck.


Leave a Reply

