jump to navigation

Eventide Black July 24, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual, Eventide.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Part of my Eventide exploration, here is my review of selected black cards, found on the full visual spoiler

Necroskitter
I previewed this card when CopySix suggested it for a Blowfly infestation deck. I like the -1/-1 counter theme in this block. It really has an interesting control aspect that on the surface I didn’t give respect. Now on the back end of this block there are a lot of great cards to support this theme. 

 

Raven’s Crime
Retrace is a great concept. I see this as having an impact especially late game. Raven’s Crime can prevent your opponent for getting ahead and it makes your late game land more relevant. This new ability also makes the idea of mana flood (late game) not such a bad situation.  

 

Soot Imp
I think this is a great creature with great artwork. There are many nonblack spells that are being played in standard now a days, and imagine this card against a storm deck.  Even if this guy never attacks then this card is going to be a big help in winning games. 

 

Soul Snuffers
Again another big player in the -1/-1 counter realm. I’m honestly surprised this guy isn’t a rare. Great card.  

 

Lingering Tormentor
I think this guy costs a lot to be a serious player but the two abilities give him an advantage. Above all I love the art, one of my favorite for black.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

