jump to navigation

Eventide Red/White August 11, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Part of my Eventide exploration, here is my review of selected red/white hybrid cards, found on the full visual spoiler.

Balefire Liege
I said Creekwood Liege is the most powerful liege in Eventide but I may eat my words as Balefire Liege is super strong and super effective. Making any and all burn doubly hurt. When I see this guy across the board I’m glad he does cost 5 mana. This liege makes Murderous Redcap extra murderous. I expect to see this guy get a lot of standard play and even block play this month at the PTQ. Clever card that we all now hate. 

Double Cleave
I was just thinking that double strike is an ability that seems to have faded away. Hearthfire Hobgoblin also gives us this ability for three mana. I like this instant because it is a nice combat trick for red and white. Now I’m thinking what first strike guy I can give double strike. Where is the TRIPPLE STRIKE?

Fire at Will
Great versatile burn spell. I didn’t expect to see Kithkin wielding the fire and I guess I didn’t expect to see Kithkin removal in Umake. 

Nobilis of War
What a cool bit of art and flavor text. Reminds me of Chariots of Fire. I just built a casual deck using Nobilis of war  and a bunch of first strike guys. The jury is still out on how effective he is but this avatar would be pretty awesome with Demigod of Revenge

Spitemare
The modern magician’s Stuffy Doll. Awesome artwork and great ability. Dropping a  Shield of the Oversoul on this guy with a card that can change a creature color would be pretty sweet. In fact I can see that being a pretty fun strategy that isn’t too expensive. If you are playing green then adding Lure to the mix might also give you some fun in a late game showdown.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

