jump to navigation

Sedraxis Specter and RSS September 12, 2008

Posted by Norm in Shards of Alara, Spoilers.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

So yesterday I posted about the land cards without reading the article. I usually don’t do that but I was in a bit of a time crunch. So thanks for everyone’s comments and clarification on that matter. I am disappointed to learn that there will be no rare lands. Shards is shaping up much differently than I expected and I am excited and nervous about how it will impact constructed. 

Only one preview card on magicthegathering.com today. This discard ability can be found in Hypnotic Specter and other cards in standard right now so I’m not sure that this complicated casting cost is going to be worth it for this guy. I will grand that a 3/2 is better than a 2/2 and but I think discarding a card at random can deal more damage than letting your opponent choose. Also I think that Needle Specter has the potential to do more damage to your opponents hand than Sedraxis, although the Sedraxis Specter is better for other more aggro strategies.  

One cool feature with these triple mana creatures is that they give you more flexibility to play different lieges. Sedraxis gets a much bigger pump from a more diverse group of liege that either Hypnotic Specter or Needle Specter. In any case you will have the ability to play all three specters giving you a potential for 12 creatures who are forcing your opponent to discard. How about that. 

My final thought today is a question. Does anyone else notice or miss that Wizards dropped the RSS feed from the magic articles? Was anyone else using the RSS feed? Do you guys use my RSS feed? Do you even know what the RSS does? Ok those are a lot of questions but I always relied on the RSS feed to bring me my wizards content and now it has dried up. Let me know if anyone else is missing this feature.

Comments»

1. atog28 - September 12, 2008

I didn’t read WotCs articles anymore since about two months. Now I notice that since the RSS feeds are gone, I don’t even longer notice that there are articles… that’s when you’re an RSS-addict. 🙂

2. Norm - September 12, 2008

I wonder how many RSS subscribers to readers they had? Maybe the feature wasn’t being used that well or they just wanted more people to get to their site. Which doesn’t make that much sense since they don’t sell anything through the website.

3. Duncan - September 13, 2008

Oh, wow. I didn’t even realize WotC or you had an RSS feed. I probably would have used WotC’s RSS feed had I known about it and I’m going to start using yours now that you’ve alerted me to it.

My ranking of Specters in the new standard(10th, LOR block, and Shards):
1. Hypnotic Specter
2. Sedraxis Specter
3. Needle Specter

4. cadenadebronce3 - September 13, 2008

The only thing I have to say about this 3 color creatures, not only Sedraxis Specter, is that they don’t show 3 color abilitys at all… Sedraxis Specter is not red, though its mana cost needs red, flying is blue, discarding is black, but what in this card is red?… Sprouting Thrinax saprolings are green, but what about red ro balck in its cost?… Wolly Thoctar?… Windwright Mage?… could anyone answer that?…

5. Duncan - September 14, 2008

In response to cadenadebronce3, a card doesn’t need to have an ability that fits all it’s colors as long as that card could be made realistically in one of it’s colors.

For instance, Sedraxis Specter is black, no doubt about it. I could see it being printed at 2BB. The reason there are three colors in there is because it’s a hoop to jump though to get this creature out a turn faster. The reason they can up the power level of a gold card is because you have to dedicate slots and take a chance on your mana base to be able to play it. They couldn’t print Sedraxis at BBB because then you could just play only swamps and get it out easily. If however, you have to have three colors of mana to play him, he becomes alot more difficult to play.

Because you’re paying black for Sedraxis, he can have any black abilities he wants. The other colors are just there to restrict you from being able to play him as easily.

6. Gemini6Ice - September 15, 2008

The unearth ability is grixis-centric and is red, blue, and black.

Red: Haste
Black: Return from graveyard
Blue: Remove from game

7. Gemini6Ice - September 15, 2008

Also, we might see a replacement effect that allows you to choose when an effect selects a random card. That would be a cool hoop and combo.

8. cadenadebronce3 - September 17, 2008

Thanks for your answers… Gemini6Ice one was great… I couldn’t have describe better unearth ability (red, blue and black)…


Leave a Reply

