jump to navigation

A Deck For Your Consideration October 6, 2008

Posted by ricsta in Casual, Eventide.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I really like the mimics from Eventide. Battlegate Mimic, Nightsky Mimic, Riverfall Mimic, Shorecrasher Mimic, and Woodlurker Mimic. My two favorite mimics are the two that gain evasion when their ability is triggered: Nightsky Mimic gains “flying” & Riverfall Mimic gains “unblockable”. I believe one can make some competitive decks based around those two. Mike Flores did an article for StarcityGames based on Riverfall Mimic therefore let me take a closer look at Nightsky Mimic…

Now, one can take three different approaches with Nightsky Mimic. Mono black, mono white or a black/white concoction. Each one has it’s own merits, but I like the Plains Plan and running Figure of Destiny.

Mono White Nightsky

4x Nightsky Mimic
4x Unmake
4x Stillmoon Cavalier
3x Spectral Procession
4x Edge of the Divinity
4x Nip Gwyllion
4x Restless Apparition
4x Figure of Destiny
4x Oblivion Ring
3x Voracious Hatchling

22x Plains

The idea behind the deck is to get a turn one Figure, turn two Mimic followed up by Edge of the Divinity on the Mimic and then going to town on your opponent’s life total. There are twenty-six spells one can play to trigger the Mimic once it’s in play and remember you do not need to resolve a W/B spell, just play it to turn Nightsky into a 4/4 flyer.

Nip Gwyllion may look like a weak inclusion, but do not underestimate a turn one Nip followed by turn two Edge of Divinity.

If one looks outside of Block or Type II then they open the deck up to Mortify, Gerrard’s Verdict, Ghost Council of Orzhova, Pillory of the Sleepless, Dark Confidant and would need to run both Plains and Swamps.

Comments»

1. CopySix - October 7, 2008

I have had more occasions than I could count where I dropped Nip Gwyllion on turn one to follow-up with Edge of Divinity to give me a very nice 4/4 with lifelink. A few hits with this early on provided me with a solid foot in the game.
I have also had Nightsky Mimic with the Edge of Divinity on it which equals big win in my total black/white hybrid deck.
To give a solid control and conquer, I also run a deck set of Deathbringer Liege which rally ratchets up the chaos I sent across the table to the opponent.

2. John - October 7, 2008

you could try a simple evershrike inside

3. FUSION Weaties - October 22, 2008

I have a deck which uses only plains.

I have more control with Crib Swap x4 along with, Oblivion Ring x4 and Unmake x4. I also dropped the Voracious Hatchling and don’t use the Processions. I use Light from within and a couple Bloodied Ghosts for some extra flyers.

The deck above will lose every time to red burn without an anti-red side deck of Forge Tenders, Paladin En-Vec and Voice of All. Maybe some story circles too.

4. calvin - December 14, 2008

you think this deck would still be good in peasant standard format?


Leave a Reply

