jump to navigation

Shards Excitement October 7, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
Tags: ,
trackback

I’ve got a box of Shards of Alara with my name on it and I’m really excited for this release. I’ve only brefly started building some Shards decks and I’m happy to say that they will be interesting. I’m still not convinced that Lorwyn/Shadowmoor block isn’t going to to reign in Constructed. We’ll see. Please post your thoughts on that issue in the comments. 

PS. Did anyone pick up the Planeswalker’s Guide to Alara? Is it worth it? I’m going to have to order it from somewhere if I want to get my hands on a copy.

Comments»

1. Duncan - October 7, 2008

Well, I think if anyone is looking for an aggro deck in standard, there won’t be much coming from Shards. On the other hand, control decks could easily make use of some of the large beaters in Shards. I know Wafo-Tapa’s Quick’n’Toast is now running Broodmate Dragon as a finisher. I also see cards like Punish Ignorance and Bant Charm making their way into control decks.

2. Chad Wright - October 7, 2008

I haven’t played Magic in over a decade. This will be the first set since then that I buy a box of. Looking forward to it.

3. Gemini6Ice - October 7, 2008

I think the triple lands might be strong in constructed. I don’t know if people need their decks to move fast enough that a CIPT land would be a drawback.

4. Norm - October 7, 2008

Chad, Good luck with your box! Are you in the Pittsburgh area? If so drop a line and we can shuffle up.

Gemini6Ice, I agree the triple lands are better than people first thought.

5. cadenadebronce3 - October 7, 2008

I think the triple lands drawback doesn’t add anything shocking to most of players. I mean that if they would have had some new brand drawback may be players would have been more interested. And about the rest of the block I think Esper and Bant will see play in constructed and standard, and they and the other shards will complete some tactics with cards from extended blocks.

6. Chad Wright - October 7, 2008

Nope, I’m in Austin. Appreciate the offer though.


Leave a Reply

