jump to navigation

Shards of Alara Theme Decks October 10, 2008

Posted by ricsta in Casual, Shards of Alara.
Tags: , ,
trackback

On Wednsday I stopped by Wal-Mart and checked out the CCG section on my way out. I tend to refrain from purchasing Magic cards from retail stores to help keep my local gaming stores in business. But, I saw foils and anyone who has traded with me knows I loves me some foils (especially foreign). Turns out each Shards of Alara starter deck comes with one foil rare. Looking over the five shards I pulled out the Esper and Bant starter decks and purchased them with out knowing what they contained or what the price would be.

I was pleasantly suprised that for $12.50 I received a well conceived starter deck and a Shards of Alara booster pack. I picked the two Shards based on the foils themselves: Battlegrace Angel and Master of Etherium. I felt those two in foil would be worth the cost of the kit themselves and I would be eventually playing with both of them in a deck. Oh, and the extra booster pack puts these guys over the edge.

Wizards really did a wonderful job putting these together. For additional information regarding these starter decks click here then click on one of the two links below “theme decks” and you’ll pull up a list of the cards included in each shard. You will notice there are some Tenth Edition cards included, but they fit right in with the theme of each deck.

Comments»

1. Gemini6Ice - October 10, 2008

They contain out-of-block cards? That’s a little disappointing to me… 😦

2. ricsta - October 11, 2008

Yeah, I thought it was funny they put some in too, but they fit the deck’s idea well.

3. DeaD_GoD - October 13, 2008

I believe there addition was mainly for new players. ie how to fit decks together over multiple block.

I believe you were spot on with the Master of Etherium, So far one of the most expensive rares in Shards.

4. Dee - October 15, 2008

Wow. Foil Battlegrace Angel. That’s pretty awesome.

5. Trevor Chamberlain - November 5, 2008

the out of block card idea is interesting… I wonder how the decks will fare in battle with the commonly used “Guildpact” decks, I currently am working on a deck, but I can’t seem to get it to “Tick” how I want it to, but we’ll see how these SOA intro pack ideas will affect the way it works… I don’t like though how they don’t have 60 cards like they used to, but I’ll enjoy seeing how things go with the SOA block, peace out 🙂
-Trevor


Leave a Reply

