jump to navigation

Ohio States ’09, preamble November 9, 2008

Posted by ricsta in Casual.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Howdy folks, as promised I took a deck w/Realm Razer to States this year and just so happened to make top 8. I’ll start off with the list I took, then talk about what changes I would make if I had to sleeve up for another nine rounds of swiss.

3x Realm Razer

3x Jace Beleren
4x Ajani Vengeant
3x Garruk Wildspeaker
2x Elspeth, Knight-Errant

4x Wrath of God
3x Remove Soul
4x Cryptic Command
3x Jund Charm
3x Esper Charm
3x Condemn

4x Reflecting Pool
4x Vivid Meadow
4x Vivid Creek
1x Vivd Crag
1x Vivid Grove
2x Underground River
2x Battlefield Forge
1x Shivan Reef
1x Yavimaya Coast
2x Mystic Gate
1x Fetid Heath
1x Flooded Grove
1x Sunken Ruins
—-Side Board—–
1x Condemn
1x Remove Soul
2x Wispmare
3x Negate
3x Counterbore
1x Oblivion Ring
4x Bant Charm

The biggest changes I would make would be to the side board, I’d cut the four Bant Charms and the singleton Oblivion Ring for an additional Negate, two Mind Shatters and possibly two  Resounding Thunders. Even though game one against 5-Color Control is heavily in Planeswalker’s favor, 5-color sides out many of their dead cards and you’ll need some way to attack their hand. An interesting sideboard card that Ruben Bresler had is Twincast, that forgotten 10 Edition instant that copies a Cryptic Command, Cruel Ultimatum, or what ever goodies your opponent plays.

Maybe the mana can be fixed, but I never had a problem casting my spells when I needed to, but the pain land count maybe a little too high. Even though the Jund Charm is a dead card to a couple of decks I still believe it’s needed for game one against Kithkin and Revillark.

I got the idea for this Planeswalker deck while I was at Grand Prix Kansas City and my friend Rick was playing a win-a-box eight man standard tournament. We both watched the semi-final match that would determine his opponent in the finals. His opponent ended up being a Planeswalker deck and after they split the box he was kind enough to show us his deck. I took the idea home with me, discussed the deck with Reuben Bresler and play tested it against some really good players. My friends Dan, Dale and  Andrew commented on the deck and their input resulted in the list above.

From the original list we cut 2xChandra, 2xLiliana, 3xSavor the Moment, 3xNegate and 3xBant Charm from the main deck.  We added 3xCondemns,3xRemove Soul, one more Ajani, one more Jace, 2x Espith, an additional Garruk and two more Realm Razor.

What drew me to the deck was the great match up against 5-Color Toast/Cruel and also the surprise factor. At States and FNM I won a couple game ones where my opponent thought I was playing five color control and would
tap out on their turn when I had Espith or Ajani in play then I would follow up next turn with Realm Razer and we’d move quickly to side boarding. Other opponents never play tested against any version of planeswalkers and had to make up an unsound game plan as they went along. And above everything else this deck is a lot of fun to play.

If you want some other directions as to where to take the planeswalkers check out Starcitygames’ forum here. I will be posting a tournament review in a couple of days.

Comments»

1. Norm - November 9, 2008

Congrats on the top eight. Realm Razer is an awesome card I can see why it would be a huge surprise. Looking forward to your complete review.

2. lolo - December 23, 2008

Who is Ruben Bresler?

3. Cody Tavares - May 5, 2009

I have made a 5cc Planeswalker deck of my own, and so far it beats regular 5cc, boat brew (unique), faeries, kithkin, doran, and pain draw, but those are just the decks from my friends at shcool. My school is pretty big on magic though, and I continue to be amazed at the money floating around buying these decks. My friend made i think a 600$+ deck, and i preceded to beat it although I can’t remember what his wincon/deck type was. So without further explanation heres my Planeswalker/5cc deck.

Planeswalkers: (8)
Garruk Wildspeaker x2
Ajani Vengeant x4
Jace Beleren x2

Instants: (14)
Volcanic Fallout x2
Terror x3
Cryptic Command x4
Broken Ambitions x3
Esper Charm x2

Sorceries: (4)
Cruel Ultimatum x2
Wrath of God x2

Creatures: (9)
Broodmate Dragon x2
Wall of Reverance x4
Plumeveil x3

Lands: (25)
Island x2
Swamp x1
Vivid Grove x4
Mystic Gate x2
Sunken Ruins x2
Vivid Marsh x3
Vivid Creek x3
Exotic Orchard x1
Reflecting Pool x4

60 cards total

SB:
Smash to Smithereens x2
Esper Charm x2
Maelstrom Archangel x1
Slave of Bolas x1
Oblivion Ring x3
Liliana Vess x1
Scepter of Fugue x1
Volcanic Fallout x2
Broken Ambitions x1
Terror x1

MY sideboard is funky I know, but I built it based on the decks I see at the tournaments here in Hawai’i so don’t be upset. I hope you liked it! Please comment.


Leave a Reply

