jump to navigation

Random Login Window November 12, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
trackback

If anyone is seeing a login window appear for http://www.mtgchams.com please ignore it. Just hit cancel and move on. I have no idea why that login is appearing and I have no affiliation with mtgchams.com. I’ve contacted wordpress about this issue and I’m waiting to hear back. 

If anyone has any insight into why this is happening please let me know.

::UPDATE::

Fix. It seems we were linking to an image on mtgchamps.com that now has restricted access. Thanks to Michael for the heads up.

Comments»

1. Michael Rawdon - November 12, 2008

I don’t think it has anything to do with WordPress, it’s because this post on your blog contains a link to an image on their site. They probably added the login window to prevent people from hotlinking to images on their site in this way (although they might have set up the login for some other reason and it just happens to show up in this case, too).

(FWIW, hotlinking to an image on another site is generally considered poor blogging form. Some people actually consider it to be ‘stealing bandwidth’. I find that position to be a little extreme, but I have my own blog set up to block hotlinking, just because I want people to come to my site for my content, not see it on someone else’s site.)

2. Gemini6Ice - November 12, 2008

The problem with setting up blocked hotlinking (for me) is that I want to be able to hotlink to my own images when I’m on forums or networking sites. But not too many people find my images worth hotlinking, so it’s never been a big problem for me.

Just as rambling here… it might be possible to come up with a checksum on a referring URL and use that in an inline image via a php page so that only the specific page could use that specific hotlink. I might try to implement this actually! 😀


Leave a Reply

