jump to navigation

New Gatherer Beta November 13, 2008

Posted by Norm in Casual.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

gatererbeta

For those of you who use the Gatherer as much as I do you’ll be excited to see the beta for the New Gatherer online. Wizards made the announcement about this some time ago when they announced the new website altogether. After using the new Gatherer for a few searches. I like how they have simplified the search filters with check boxes instead of drop down menus. this will make searching a little easier. 

By far the best new feature of this Gatherer happens when you type your search. If you are like me and suck at spelling most words then you often forget how to spell most of the cards in print. Now when you start to type a card name it gives you search results right under the search field. Awesome. It works great and is right on every time. 

gathererbeta2

When viewing a search, or a set, you can refine your search results with a little drop down menu. This is where you can see your results as a visual spoiler or text only, etc. They also give you the option to sort by color which I think will come in handy in the future. I think that they could have made this drop down menu button a little bigger or just always have it display, but I haven’t used it enough yet to know how often I’ll want those options. 

When viewing an individual card you get a number of options that include Set & Legality, Languages, and Discussion. I think that this tab system is a little clunky when previously you had most of this info right in front of you on one page. The discussion section is an interesting concept. Although I don’t know how I feel about seeing other comments and ratings on the cards in the Gatherer. I really liked the simple no nonsense card viewing aspect to the previous version. So perhaps it is a good idea to keep the social aspect to the Gatherer buried be hind a tab. You can rate and comment on each card if you are logged into to a wizards.com account. I must have missed this feature or maybe its new because I don’t have an account. Oh well you can still comment as a guest. 

I first saw info on the beta on MTG Realm so thanks Copy Six for tipping me off. Something else is also ticking over at wizards.com because a quick check in the daily section showed me this graphic:

mtg-down

Maybe it has to do with the new Gatherer or maybe they are brining back RSS or fixing the horrible page design. I hope it is something good.

Comments»

1. Gemini6Ice - November 13, 2008

Awesome! It is not blocked at work yet!

What would be the difference between “exclude unchecked colors” and “match exactly these colors”?


Leave a Reply

