jump to navigation

Conflux Prerelease Recap Video January 31, 2009

Posted by Norm in Conflux, Organized Play.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The people have spoken. I brought my camera with me today and here is a recap of my thoughts on Conflux. I didn’t spend time in between rounds to take any footage especially the second round as my deck was pretty slow. 

First thing’s first. I hate to complain about a prerelease because there is so much excitement about the new cards, but seriously Wizards what gives? Please leave comments to let me know what happened in your area. As I mention in the video, I  showed up at 8 a.m. sharp to get into flights early. I knew from people and the previous nights FNM that there weren’t going to be the usual flights but no one seemed to know what was going on. Anyway, there are a lot of people who showed up in between 8 and 9 to play. There was no flight, there was no draft there wasn’t even open duling. Basically the event is changed to just flights that start at specific times. No more main event, no more 32 man flights. Just strictly scheduled flights starting as predetermined times. 

I’m not so much bothered by the change, but rather how it occured. As I understand in the PES folks got the message late yesterday from Wizards about the changes. I’ve got to say this really sucks because I made specific plans to participate in the event early in the day. I was hoping to do two events and leave early afternoon. These changes pretty much prevented my plan from happening. The changes do make sense, because something I complained about during the Eventide prerelease is that I was only able to get into one event because I couldn’t get there until 1 p.m.  and these changes seem to try to fix that. The problem is that the current prereleases are very poorly attended compared to previous prereleases. So let me get off this rant, but it’s obvious that the prerelease is still kind of broken. 

How about those cards. Well I spend some time in the video talking about what I saw and used today. Cards that I liked, cards that are working, and how the heck are we dealing with these mana costs. Well I didn’t spend too much time talking about paying crazy mana costs but I did see some people win with 5 color decks. I felt that three color decks defiantly have a better ability to smooth out their base more than anything. 

Next I’ll be thinking about some standard builds with the new cards. One card in particular that I did open today, Master Transmuter. Everyone was begging to trade it, but I’ve got plans for her.

Comments»

1. Flaime - February 1, 2009

Anyway, there are a lot of people who showed up in between 8 and 9 to play. There was no flight, there was no draft there wasn’t even open duling. Basically the event is changed to just flights that start at specific times. No more main event, no more 32 man flights

That was your tournament organizer, not WOTC. We had a main event, side drafts, and a non-sanctioned open sealed.


Leave a Reply

