jump to navigation

Under the Weather and New Formats February 10, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual, One Rare and a Prayer.
Tags:
trackback

Someone resolved an Exotic Disease when I wasn’t looking this weekend, because I’ve been under the weather the past few days. I’m still in recovery mode although from what I hear it will get worse before it gets better. 

The shame is that tonight The Art Institute of Pittsburgh’s club, The Arcane Order, is meeting and playing a format I initiated. We’re calling it one rare and a prayer (biased on that deck building series I’ve been flakey with). Last week I passed out random creature rares and everyone has to build a deck around that card. Since I’ve been sick I didn’t build my deck. I know I suck for trying.

Anyway I hope that everyone else put their decks together I’m excited to see this format take off. I’m looking for a way to engage new or broke players who have older cards and can’t draft every week. The club has seen a decline in members over the past few months for one reason or another and I’m hoping some creative casual formats will go a long way. Here is a link to the rules we devised for One Rare and a Prayer, let me know what you think. Keep in mind four or so people came up with this in a short amount of time and we haven’t tested it yet.

Oh and my card is Megatog. Maybe I can get it together for next week.

Comments»

1. RileyScott - February 10, 2009

interesting format

great for build around me type cards

2. james - February 12, 2009

is the format suppose to consist of a “random rare” or is that just how you’re running this particular event?

megatog seems like a pretty good rare to get. break that shiat. 😉

3. Norm - February 15, 2009

James,

The format had a random rare for everyone, but I chose cards that had relative power levels. In terms of an interesting ability, casting cost and p/t.


Leave a Reply

