jump to navigation

Cylian Sunsinger + Mirrorweave = Powerhouse? March 3, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual.
trackback

I had a brilliant idea the other night. Create a deck with Cylian Sunsinger around a Shaman theme and use Mirrorweave to kick some serious ass.

The only thing is that I really didn’t find the shaman theme I thought was out there. Bosk Banneret was really the only shaman advantage I cold find. There were very little cards that really got me excited about going shaman only. Here is the list that I pulled together.

Cylian Sunsinger
Wolf-Skull Shaman
Bosk Banneret
Elvish Visionary
Glarewielder
Lightning crafter
Rage Forger
Troll Ascetic
Vexing Shusher

So what am I missing. Is there a non shaman out there that can help. I think some additional cards to support this deck are Spectral Procession, Cloudgoat Ranger, and Naya Charm.

What do you think?
Comments»

1. Gemini6Ice - March 3, 2009

Are you trying to keep this deck in Standard? If not, I like the idea of using Momir Vig, Simic Visionary to tutor your Elf/Shamans to the top.

I know a lot of people hate it, but I personally love Cream of the Crop. I use it in my Helix Pinnacle R/G aggro deck, and I think the combo would work for you too: once I get one or two of them out and a Creakwood Liege, I’m getting a 3/3 Worm at the beginning of every upkeep.

If you stack the triggers to your liking, you’ll get 3/3 Worm Token -> quasi-scry 3 (and maybe bring a elf/shaman to the top) -> Wolf-Skull Shaman to get a 2/2 Wolf token (which is 3/3 thanks to the Liege)

2. Michael Rawdon - March 3, 2009

Part of the problem is that White and Blue just don’t have much in the way of Shamans.

You might do better to build an Elf, Treefolk or Elemental deck around these cards and just squeeze as many Shamans in as you can. For instance, A Treefolk deck with Leaf-Crowned Elders and Orchard Wardens. You might have more luck with Elves.

In any case, don’t forget about the Changelings!

3. Norm - March 4, 2009

Or is this just a win more type of an ablility?

4. mattventure - March 4, 2009

leaf-crowned elder. essence warden. eternal witness.

5. Squirle - March 4, 2009

Aw, no love for Sashi, Daughter of Seshiro?

6. JMGH - March 4, 2009

Why dont play Loxodon Hierarch and Birds of Paradise to accelerate your game plan?

At simple vision of this idea i try anything similar to this:
4 Loxodon Hierarch
4 Birds of Paradise
4 Llanowar Elves
4 Cylian Sunsinger
4 Mirror Weave
4 Gift of Gargantuan
4 Lash Out
4 Naya Charm
4 Burrenton Forge-Tender
3 Garruk

21 Lands

This is for T2 obviously and the game plan it’s make mana the most quickly possible and place at least 5 or 6 creatures and then play the Mirrorweave.
Gifts probably not the best card here but i don’t remember at this time any other card (G,W or R) with Clash :O

7. Lunashine - March 4, 2009

Hi norm, creative Idea, indeed. I mostly like the sunsinger because of her beautiful artwork.

If it weren’t for that strict RGW activation cost you could use some interesting combos like black ashling + shaman equipment = machine gun removal. I also wonder why the best shaman is missing in your list. chameleon colossus should not be missing, I think.

shapesharer could also copy a sunsinger.

8. Norm - March 4, 2009

All awesome suggestions.

Lunashine, good point about Chameleon Colossus. To bad I think nasty thoughts when considering using it for good.

JMGH, cool idea too.

9. Dillon - March 5, 2009

I would say “No.” to “powerhouse”. 4 mana for mirrorweave. 3 mana for activation. After that 7 mana investment, all creatures on the board are now 7/7s. Powerhouse? Not too sure.

The shaman thing is cool though. I had a deck with the wolf-skull shamans and it was fun. Troll Ascetic, Chameleon Colossus, and of course other Elves. Most decks splash for black because you get Eyeblights ending, and Nameless Inversion.

I must give you kudos for doing your own thing, always respectable.

Keep up the good work, my man. Always inspiring.

10. Jon - March 7, 2009

I agree with a few of the people up above. Leaf-Crowned Elder needs to be in a Shaman deck.

Masked Admirers is a bigger re-usable version of the Elvish Visionary.

Elspeth, Knight-Errant might be a good way of making yourself some tokens, in addition to your idea of Spectral Procession and Cloudgoat Ranger.


Leave a Reply

