jump to navigation

Alara Reborn: Ardent Plea March 9, 2009

Posted by Norm in Alara Reborn, Spoilers.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

While you were sleeping Wizards of the Coast uploaded a spoiler for Alara Reborn, Ardent Plea.

[note: I wrote this post and then somehow it dissapeard when I originally published – I rewrote as best as I could recal.]

Word on the street is that we are looking at Elspath recieving divine intervention of sorts. I’d say some sort of blessing of the sword is what is happening. I’ve seen speculation that this enchantment will put angel creature tokens into play. I’m not so sure about that because if that were true I think this would be a rare card.

I’ve got a few theories on the abilities Ardent Plea will grant, but I do think they will grat abilites to creatures. One idea is to grant lifelink/shroud to creatures you control. That is kind of boring so how about something more exciting. Creatures you control could receive exalted/flying, which would be particularly awesome, especially in token deck. My first thought after seeing the card today was something like creatures get +2/+0 and are artifacts in addition to their other types. I thought that because of the sword in the image and the fact that the Shards are coming together, overlaping esper and bant.

Another wild idea is that planeswalkers you control get shroud or some sort of protection ability.

From a flavor perspective I wonder who Elspath is making a plea to? Nicol Bolas? Another angel or planeswalker perhaps?

Anyway awesome artwork to spoil first.


[update]

And I almost forgot about this bit of news from The Magic Sock Podcast. He recieved 10 gold chocolate coins from Wizard’s PR firm working Magic. Check out the link and let me know what you think. Personally I think this is a really clever way to get the internets talking and speculating. My first thought here is that there is a connection to Rhox War Monk. The old pancake flipper fiping up some chocolate.

Comments»

1. Cory - March 9, 2009

Does the card that was previewed have to do anything with the gold coins? Because if so that gives me an idea on what the preview cards power will be.

2. Duncan - March 9, 2009

The real important part of this card for preview purposes isn’t in the name, cost, type, or art but it’s collector’s number. As you can see its 1/145. If they are following the same number convention that they have been, that would mean there are zero mono-colored cards in the set.

3. Norm - March 9, 2009

Duncan, I totally forgot about the fact that it will be a gold set. In my haste to get this post up I seemingly left that speculation out. I knew I was forgetting something. Zero mono colored cards which makes a lot sense if all the Shards are merging.

Cory, I don’t think that the coins have to do with the power of the enchantment. Although (I just thought of this now) what if the ability is, “Ardent Plea comes into play with 10 Gold counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep you may remove a counter and choose one: put a 1/1 creature token in play or put a 1/1 counter on target creature.” That could be a really fun card.

4. Squirle - March 10, 2009

Or it could just be that they are promoting a gold set with “gold” coins 😛

5. CopySix - March 10, 2009

Gold Coins must mean only one thing . . . PIRATES ! !

Anywho, I think we should expect one or more 10-drop gold critters.

Also – for Ardent Plea, it is not out of the realm of possibility to generate tokens being an Uncommon . . . this is my hunch as the card was spoiled during ‘Timmy Week’.

my take – Whenever you are damage, put a 1/1 Angel Spirit token with flying into play.

6. ejobity - March 10, 2009

are they going to be releasing a new card every day?

7. Gemini6Ice - March 10, 2009

I think Ardent Plea has something to do with Asha’s return. I agree that REB *must* be mono-free. I agree that gold coins remind us of Earl the IHOP Chef, so Ardent Please must also involve life gain or lifelink in some fashion. It *is* an enchantment, and not a nonpermanent spell, so I think the possibility of a counterful enchantment is very likely.

I also still hold out my hope for a little hybrid splashing… Maybe even, finally, multi-hybrid-colored (as opposed to simply multicolored AND hybrid, as in Reaper King). Shards merging seems like the perfect flavor to justify some hybrid cards.

8. Cory - March 10, 2009

Tomorrows TaptoLaugh deals with this topic.

9. Lunashine - March 11, 2009

that being elspeth? I only recognize her sword… anyway, another great work by chippy. Id say its:

Ardent Plea

Exalted

Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gains lifelink until end of turn.

10. Nick Davis - March 11, 2009

I don’t know if it’d be a Battlegrace angel duplicate. I wonder if it’d be more along the lines of Suicidal Charge except on a defensive front:

Tap all creatures you control: Prevent all combat damage dealt this turn.

11. Ryan - March 11, 2009

One could also read into the gold coins as gold *tokens*. Thoughts?

12. Ashen - March 15, 2009

The card can assume to be Bant, while it falls in line with Esper as well, the art and the fact that it’s an enchantment pushes it over with Bant.

The art itself could signify a few things. The female in the foreground, kneeling in reverence to something off panel, that is shining down on her offered out weapon. While in the distand background there’s a town, perhaps of Bant origin, burning.

So, from the art, perhaps the loss of a land, will allow you to enhance a creature in some fashion, whether that’s with +1/+1 counters, or allow you to get an equiptment card from your deck.

On the other hand, though less likely, I suppose she could be trying to destroy the sword, as white often has artifact destruction abilities.’

Those are more or less my thoughts on these teaser card.

13. Jeffery Sventora - March 16, 2009

Im pretty sure that this enchantment will be something along the lines of “Creatures you control have Vigilance” or something like that, take a look at cards like Ardent Militia and Ardent SOldier, they both have Vigiliance and they are the only 2 cards with the word “Ardent” in their name, PLUS they are both white, so maybe a mixture of an esper effect, like VIgilance and +1/+0. Who knows, this card looks kick ass.


Leave a Reply

