jump to navigation

Tonight We Played Constructed March 19, 2009

Posted by Norm in Constructed, Tournament.
Tags: , ,
trackback

And here is what I learned.

1. Mono black goblin rogue has no chance against any of the competitive decks in standard right now. I played it tonight because I thought that it would be a surprise and I could get in with fear and persist before my opponents would be able to stabilize. I did almost win a match against mono red but I didn’t have enough gas, and there is no chance against 5CC so don’t even try.

2. The reason I really am writing this post is because of Bant variants. First off check out Dillion’s Bant Brew post. There is a good conversation going about cheaper builds as well as an interesting build with faeries.

I was really interested in building a Bant theme because it has all of the stuff about Shards of Alara that make Magic fun; Exalted, life gain, control and a little aggro. A few weeks ago I scoped out a version of the bant deck online and put together something that I could manage with cards I own. I wanted to be able to play this deck so my only appology is that I was going for the fun factor over the win conidion. Anyway. Here is a link to my deck list, Middle Class Bant (I didn’t get a chance to complete the deck list before going live).

My version – Cheap Bant
It is fun but if you are playing against other stronger competitive decks in the format you can’t compete. Without the Hierarchs you just don’t have the speed. Maybe I should have included Birds. In less competitive realms I think this deck is good.

Dark Bant
This deck runs Tide Hollow Sculler and Doran. It is a really creative idea. However I think that the mimic build is better because of the aggro. The build I played against ran Rafiq and cryptics so I was really at a disadvantage. I didn’t win with my Cheap Bant build.  Oh well.

Ideal Build
I can’t really say. I haven’t played with the Fae that Dillon originally suggests. But the question is turn two mimic or sculler? both could be really strong. Maybe there is a version that runs both creatures with one in the sideboard.

With all that said, I still think Ajani Vengant Kithkin is better.

Comments»

1. frylockdude - March 19, 2009

I think you may have done much better had you been running 4 Bitterblossoms. Although at that point, you may as well just run Faeries.

On Bant decks, I think the real problem with any deck based in Alara is that it’s doomed to be tier 2 until Lorwyn and Shadowmoor rotate out. My 5cc is about 80/20 against John’s Dark Bant deck and I don’t think I’ve lost yet to yours.

2. Norm - March 19, 2009

I just wanted to play mono black goblin and see how it would fair. The fear is too much in my other casual circles.

I wouldn’t mind playing Fae, but I’ve only got one Bitterblossom.

We should play with my Ajani Vengant deck might give 5CC a challenge.

3. John Lowe - March 19, 2009

I played a goblin deck at FNM a couple of weeks ago and won with it.

I don’t own bitterblossom or I would play it.

here is the list in case your interested

// Lands
6 [7E] Swamp (4)
5 [US] Mountain (2)
4 [LRW] Auntie’s Hovel
4 [10E] Sulfurous Springs
4 [SHM] Graven Cairns

// Creatures
3 [LOR] Facevaulter
4 [LOR] Mad Auntie
3 [SHM] Vexing Shusher
4 [10E] Mogg Fanatic
3 [10E] Siege-Gang Commander
4 [10E] Nantuko Husk
2 [LRW] Marsh Flitter

// Spells
4 [SHM] Flame Javelin
3 [10E] Grave Pact
4 [ALA] Dragon Fodder
3 [10E] Beacon of Unrest

// Sideboard
SB: 1 [SHM] Vexing Shusher
SB: 4 [10E] Distress
SB: 2 [CFX] Banefire
SB: 2 [LRW] Thoughtseize
SB: 3 [CFX] Volcanic Fallout
SB: 3 [SHM] Smash to Smithereens

4. Norm - March 20, 2009

That is a pretty solid goblin build. What is your typical win condition?

5. Ryan - March 20, 2009

I’d say you’re using the wrong rogues.

Rogues can actually give 5cc real problems if you build and play it right,

I’m not being snarky or anything–I think that if you want to mug a FNM with ‘rogue’ rogue deck you can do it, but start again from scratch and post the results later. I don’t want to tell you what I did because I’m curious to see if you might come to the same conclusions.

6. John Lowe - March 20, 2009

That is hard to say. Sometimes it just beats down quickly with Mad Auntie. Usualy however Nantuko Husk is the card that wins matches. My only problem is that sometimes it stalls out.I wish there was some way to draw cards. I considered running 2 or 3 Graveborn muse but I am not sure what to take out.

John


Leave a Reply

