jump to navigation

Conflux Review: Blue March 23, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual, Conflux.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

My selected review of Conflux Blue as found in the full Visual Spoiler.

Cumber Stone
Not an amazing card. I did have someone play this against me in a draft and it really threw me off. I don’t see a huge advantage in constructed although in casual constructed this could be one of those cards that really slows down your opponents threats. Could be a lot of fun to build with.

This would be pretty amazing if it had flash. A combat trick that throws off your opponents math, allows you to kill some of his guys, or survive for another turn. In big table games this is defiantly a card worth considering.

Grixis Illusionist
So I just realized that this card targets your land. I originally thought this would target any land. So never mind. I think this card sucks, ya it is mana fixing and might get you through one or two sticky situations – I’m just annoyed at myself because I was imagining a deck where you disrupted your opponents mana base and manually mana screw them in the early game.

Here is where I would pick this card. If I was running  a deck with Fugitive Wizard. Same cost and p/t with the extra ability. Might be good late game when you have a bunch of islands in play and need that random green or red to sweep the board.

Parasitic Strix
A wise man once told me that a 2/2 flyer for 3 mana is a good deal. With Parasitic Strix you get that plus a potential for a 4 point life swing. Seems good to me. That is almost as good as Kitchen Finks, ok on as good as half of a finks but the flying is cool because it gets in there. The reason this card won’t see much serious action is because there are a million better plays on turn three. This card is one of those cards I would consider to be not bad but that is about as far as it goes.

If you were limited to a pauper format, however. This guy needs some attention.

Unsummon
I’m glad they reprinted this card, because so many people underestimate it. It isn’t a Path to Exile but it will cover your ass. In limited formats make sure you snag an unsummon.

I’m not that wild about the new artwork, but it works.

Comments»

1. Gemini6Ice - March 23, 2009

Hm, what’s going on with the html here? Each paragraph gets more and more indented….

2. Norm - March 23, 2009

Sorry. I have a hard time controlling the breaks in between the cards. Maybe I should write a table for these reviews.


Leave a Reply

