jump to navigation

Glory of Warfare the Decklist May 11, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual, Constructed.
Tags: ,
trackback

So to complete my love affair with Glory of Warfare I bring to you my initial idea for a deck list. I haven’t  fleshed out my thoughts nor actually built the deck so I’m open to ideas/suggestions.

Glory of Warfare

Glory of Warfare
Martial Coup
Spectral Procession
Goblin Assault
Volcanic Fallout
Predator Dragon
Ajani Vengeant
Path to Exile

I’m thinking a turn three Spectral Procession/Goblin Assault into a turn four glory of Warfare is the ideal play. As I’m looking at this list right now I’m seeing that the mana curve is pretty akward and heavy around the four drops. Still I’m thinking a fun deck to mess around with.

What is this deck missing? A few more creatures for sure, maybe Noblis of War or some first strikers/ fliers. Creatures with a turn one casting cost might be what I’m needing. I’m also thinking I may want more kill spells i.e.: Banefire, Flame Javealin, or Incinnerate.

Comments»

1. jms. - May 12, 2009

i was chatting about this in email today. i’ll just copy/paste (for the most part) what i said. i’m thinking, “v. fallout”. on your opp’s turn of course!

aybe there could be a R/W tokens w/ glory of warefare though. i mean, that one enchantment is 2x as fast on the alpha as glorious anthem and 2x stronger on the defense–all creatures are outside of fallout (and similar) automatically. only maelstrom pulse. which is agreat card but it’s not the end-all, be-all. hoses tokens…but for what? a turn?

anyway, something w/ rise of the hobgoblins + goblin assault + glory of warfare could be cool. there’s also rakka–the b’ that puts elemental tokens into play (and don’t have to be sac’d at EOT). LSV said that evaluating mono-red is a possiblity. not sure what cards to play though.

martial coup is a “duh jms”. 🙂

2. EricCha - May 12, 2009

Don’t Forget Goldmane :]

3. crmerry - May 17, 2009

I saw a couple good W/R token decks at FNM the other day. One was in the final 8 and indeed featured Rise of the Hobgoblins. I saw some Loxodon Warhammer and Knight of Meadowgrain action too, along with the Anthem.

I would definetly go with some sort of static +x+x effect like the Anthem or Glory. So many sweepers. One point of toughness can make a huge difference right now.

The Furystroke Giant and Shared Animosity are still around too.


Leave a Reply

