jump to navigation

MTGO: The Final Frontier June 30, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual, MTGO.
Tags: ,
trackback

mtgo.jpg

This weekend I was able to make some time for MTGO and collect some digital cards from Corey, author of the late MTG web comic Tap to Laugh.  So first off high five to Corey for being awesome and donating me over a hundred extra cards to mess with. I was able to build a few decks out of the collection, mostly standard stuff and both decks in Naya. The second deck was much better, in my opinion, and I call it Odd Naya Mimic, check it out:

4 Cinder Pyromancer
1 Flameblast Dragon
4 Cerodon Yearling
4 Battlegate Mimic
2 Woolly Thoctar
1 Farhaven Elf

4 Incinerate
4 Fire at Will
4 Puncture Blast
2 Branching Bolt
2 Naya Charm
4 Dragon Fodder

6 Plains
8 Mountain
6 Forest
4 Terramorphic Expanse

Coincidently while playing this evening I ran into Nick of CCG Tradepost on MTGO and challenged him to a few games. Who soundly beat me two games in a row with his 5 color cascade deck. It was a pretty solid deck and beat my Odd Naya Mimic soundly.

I’ve been having a lot of decent luck with this build, tons of burn with creatures who have interesting synergy together. I get stuck with the mana once and a while but for a cheap deck this works good enough for me to learn the ropes.

Speaking of learning the ropes, I’ve got to say that the overall gameplay experience on MTGO is really nice. It took me a few games to get used to how things actually function. Once I got comfortable the game plays really well. However, the interface is extremely awkward. As a graphic designer I’ll say that there could be an overhaul to the interface and it would do wonders for the game.

All in all I’m not sold on investing a lot of time and cash into MTGO but it is a great alternative to paper magic. My user name is “MrDirby” so if you see me on say hi.

Comments»

1. Nick Davis - June 30, 2009

Had a fun time playing against you! I totally agree on the interface. Seems a bit chunky, as though features have been slapped on through time.

Have you looked into intimidation bolt at all? Red/white and stalls the opponent a turn.


Leave a Reply

