jump to navigation

Getting Ready for States 2009 November 5, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual, Constructed, Organized Play, Standard.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The Back Story

This morning I received a message on facebook from Dillon reminding me that States is right around the corner. I’m glad he did because I didn’t have it on my list of things to think about this month. Good thing I’ve been thinking a lot about standard the past few weeks. I’ve been tinkering with goblins specifically built around Warren Instgator, I’ll get to more on that later.

Flash to this afternoon with a timely visit from John, Arcane Order club member, to talk about the development of decks in the new standard. We spent the better part of an hour analyzing decks on tcgplayer.com. There are a lot of interesting builds out there, mostly aggressive and few control oriented. I don’t think I saw a Cancel all day. To state the obvious Baneslayer Angel is the best creature in most decks and fetch lands will be ever present.

Standard A GoGo

I’m not sure what I’ll be playing everything from Jund to the new Bant looks tempting. Mono red looks hot but the Planeswalkers deck is also intriguing. It is going to be a challenge figuring out who will be playing what as there hasn’t been a clear leader in the current meta.

Back to my goblins. I started with this in a more casual mindset but it has some interesting potential. I’ve played a few games and love putting chieftan onto the battlefield because of instigator. Anyway take a look and let me know what you think. Keep in mind this is based on cards I own and not what I think is the best build.

Creatures
4 x Raging Goblin
2 x Goblin Bushwhacker
1 x Goblin Guide
4 x Warren Instigator
4 x Goblin Chieftain
4 x Goblin Razerunners
2 x Siege-Gang Commander

Spells
4 x Burst Lightning
2 x  Fireball
4 x Lightning Bolt
4 x Dragon Fodder
1 x Goblin Assault
2 x Trailblazer’s Boots

Land
20 x Mountain
2 x Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle

Comments»

1. dillon - November 10, 2009

Yea man, you should definitely be ready for that day. Lets both top 8 that and get that beautiful playmat. I feel the top decks that should be in a gauntlet are:
Eldrazi Green
Bushwacker
Jund
Vampires
UWr control
Cruel control
Naya

the thing that is awesome about Bushwacker that it has over your goblin list is Ranger of Eos, Plated Geopede, Steppe Lynx, Kor Skyfisher and a butt load of fetch lands to boot.

2. 52 Decks – Standard Goblins « Casual Magic - January 15, 2010

[…] I’m dissecting a casual goblin deck that I had been tinkering with in November during Gasp Con. If you go back and look at that list […]


Leave a Reply

