jump to navigation

GASP Con Prep November 11, 2009

Posted by Norm in Casual, EDH.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Sealed

GASP Con is quickly approaching and I’m working to keep myself prepared. Friday is the Zendikar sealed event and I don’t really have much to say about that. Except, Zendikar is starting to grow on me. I liked shards limited events better than zen but do think that this is a cool format that has a lot of explosive cards. I’m probably going to avoid a flying ally strategy if I can help it. If I had my druthers I’d love to open a Nyssa and her chosen. Play a green black deck with vampires and elves. I’ll let you know what happens.

EDH

On Saturday, and this is what I’ve really been preparing for, is the EDH showdown. They don’t really call it that but it is a good name for an EDH event. If only the event started at high noon. My EDH history is pretty lame. I’ve never seriously gotten into the format and all my previous deck attempts fall flat as either too clunky or too bulky and not enough synergies. So I’ve turned to the internet for deck ideas. The best EDH deck list collection that I found is on MTG Salvation. A really comprehensive general search (of decks they have lists for) that links to the thread with that deck list.

As for me I’m playing Sygg, River Guide based on this list from MTG Salvation user Soskei. I really wanted to play this Niv-Mizzet deck but that general has already been chosen. Anyway the Sygg deck fit two of my criteria fun and available cards on sort notice. I did make a few changes adding some counter spells, wizards who can tap to essentially spell pierce, and various merfolk. One secret tech I added is Sunken City, which I added after sorting thorough various pickups in forgotten boxes. I picked up my first Cryptic Command since foolishly trading them away back in the early days of Lorywn. And I’m contemplating a planeswalker or two.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Comments»

1. magic the gathering software - November 11, 2009

Sygg….so amazing.

2. CopySix - November 15, 2009

Tell us how everything went down at GASP.

Eventually, I hope to get around to slide into some EDH action myself – I’m just waiting for you to take the plunge first.

b.t.w. – Sygg is indeed the bee’s knee.


Leave a Reply

