jump to navigation

52 Decks – Standard Goblins January 15, 2010

Posted by Norm in 52 Decks, Standard.
Tags: , ,
trackback
Deck 2 - Standard Goblins

This week I bring you a deck that I’ve actually been tinkering with for a while. I’d pull out another deck list I’ve been working on that is more casual but I haven’t had the time to play test so you’ll have to wait on that, psst it’s dragons.

Goblins.., Attack!

Tonight, I’m dissecting a casual goblin deck that I had been tinkering with in November during Gasp Con. If you go back and look at that list you’ll see a rather wonky build, typically when starting a casual build I just grab whatever cards I have at hand and shuffle up. Now I’m hoping to play something similar at FNM tomorrow, and there needs to be a lot of adjustment.

At the time I was experiencing some really explosive turns with Warren Instigator and Goblin Chieftain. If I can attack into an open field with Instigator and I have a Goblin Chieftain (or two) in hand I usually win the game very quickly. My plan is too keep the field open by killing my opponents creatures with Burst Lightning and Lightning Bolt keeping that path clear. The beauty of this plan is that you can spend your mana on burn precombat because with Instigator in play you don’t have to pay for your creature spells. Last time anybody checked free spells equals awesome. Because of this plan I’m considering playing a set of Panic Attack to get Instigator in there. A turn three panic attack with Instigator in play while holding Chieftain and Siege-Gang is going to be pretty sick.

Here is my core build. 4 x of each Goblin Chieftain, Warren Instigator, Goblin Guide, Siege-Gang Commander and burn Burst Lightning and Lightning Bolt. The reason I’m shifting to so many four-ofs is because I would find myself without a goblin in hand to dump into Instigator. Nothing is sadder than connecting and not being able to play spells for free.

So looking at what other people are putting in competitive goblin decks on deck check.net I’m thinking I have a few options with each main spell type. Lets start with creatures.

Creatures

Given that I’ve got my core 16 most people are either doing one of two things. Playing Caldera Hellion and Voracious Dragon or Goblin Bushwhacker and Goblin Ruinblaster. Ruinblaster helps against Jund (although recently Jund has adjusted). The disadvantage to Ruinblaster is that a lot of fetchlands are going to be played that can respond to the kicker hitting the stack. So I think Ruinblaster is going to the sideboard for me. I really like Bushwacker, but its disatvantage is that if I play it with Instigator I can’t pay the kicker because I’m not casting the spell.

Caldera Hellion and Voracious Dragon are both great finishers. In the decklists I’ve seen Hellions appears to be favored over The Dragon. Probably because you might cast this spell late in the game with only one or two creatures in play and the Hellion can potentially wipe your opponents board. Where as dealing one or two damage to your opponent through the Dragon might not get there. However a potential 6/6 flier is nothing to turn your back on.

Spells

In addition to the standard suite of burn there are a lot of fun options to fill out the deck. Some people are running Goblin Assault others Dragon Fodder, Eldrazi Monument and/or Coat of Arms, and some just run the burn only and max out the creatures.

I really like how Dragon Fodder worked with my casual build so I’m going to run four with one Eldrazi Monument and three of my special tech, Panic Attack.

Land

Finally the land. There are two distinct options and then slight variations, Teetering Peaks or Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle. After that depending on your build you might run 17 or 18 basics. Personally I like the Teetering Peaks route because my plan is to win before 5 mountains and I don’t want too many comes into play tapped lands.

Final Build

So where does that leave us. Here is the final build:

Creatures

4 Goblin Chieftain
4 Goblin Guide
4 Seige-Gang Commander
4 Warren Instigator
2 Goblin Bushwhacker
2 Caldera Hellion

Spells

4 Burst Lightning
4 Lightning Bold

4 Dragon Fodder
1 Eldrazi Monument
3 Panic Attack

Land

20 Basic Mountain
4 Teetering Peaks

If you have any comments let me know before I shuffle up at tomorrows FNM.

Finally here is something special for reading through this long post. My workspace while planning this deck. Usually I’m not as neat but I had a pretty good idea of where I was going before sitting down.

Comments»

1. Fatesofashe - April 22, 2010

Haha Raad,

I’d do some modifications, Panic Attacks i would take em out for 1 or Eldrazi Monuments. They are flying indestructable anyway…

2ndly i would consider putting in Goblin Assault there way you always have something to sacrifice for the monuments.

A banefire looks suitable here too 🙂

2. myke - April 28, 2010

how much the goblin deck? or txt me 09062735810 for the price..ty

3. harvyus - January 28, 2011

I have a goblin deck but use black for terminates amd blingtning, taking 2 Burst Lightning and 3 panic atack.but I’m a rookie so I do not heed jajajaja.


Leave a Reply

