jump to navigation

52 Decks – Evil Nights January 23, 2010

Posted by Norm in 52 Decks.
Tags: , ,
trackback
Deck 3 - Evil Nights

Welcome back to 52 Decks. The post series where I build a new deck each week for one year.

Recently I’ve been looking at casual extended builds. Even now I’ve got some extended builds in the works, but this week I wanted to get back to standard and tinker with an idea that’s been in the back of my mind for a while, Sanguine Bond and Invincible Hymn. Awesome right, just get the mana and it is gonna be an instant kill with Hymn. Right! Wrong.

As I was jotting down cards to fill out the deck list I thought Invincible Hymn read “Gain life equal to the number of cards in your Library.” Oops not quite. Hymn actually reads, “Count the number of cards in your library. Your life total becomes that number.” Not the same thing at all. So this little combo doesn’t work, which is too bad because when you could play both spells there is little your opponent could do to stop from loosing 40ish life when you play the Hymn in to Bond. Lets face it I probably wouldn’t have been the one to first exploit this combo if it worked.

Sanguine Bond is still pretty awesome so I decided to forge ahead and pull a bunch of cards together. Also early in this build process I wanted to see if I could get both Black Knight and White Knight in a tag team effort. My initial four cards were the knights, bond and hymn so that’s when I named the deck Evil Nights. The following is a list of cards I pulled together to start building.

White Knight
Black Knight
Child of Night
Vampire Nighthawk
Tidehollow Sculler
Soul Warden

Sanguine Bond
Invincible Hymn

Shadow feed
Soul's Grace
Silence
Lifelink

Necromancers Covenant
Zealous Persecution

Path to Exile
Doom Blade
Tainted Sigil
Tendrils of Corruption
Wall of Reverence

After pulling more cards together I realized that the knights were going to be difficult to cast consistently as well as they don’t have Lifelink. Vampires and Zombies are going to be a better fit for this situation, also where Necromancer’s Covennant comes in. Wall of Reverence was a last minute inclusion as I was thinking about ditching the knights and looking for more life gain options.

I feel that the removal is kind of weak. Yes Path to Exile is good but I’m wondering if Day of Judgment wouldn’t be excellent here. I want to run Tendrils of Corruption to “gain life” and had considered Doom Blade. Perhaps Zealous Persecution is a little over zealous and four wrath effects vs tricks might be a better play.  Anyway here is the list and I’ll let you know how it plays when I get some games in.

4 Soul Warden
4 Wall of Reverence
4 Child of Night
4 Vampire Nighthawk

1 Necromancer’s Covennant
4 Sanguine Bond

4 Path to Exile
3 Soul’s Grace
4 Tendrils of Corruption
4 Zealous Persecution

4 Marsh Flats
10 Planes
10 Swamps

UPDATE
Thanks to Scitzophrenic in the comments, he pointed out that in the Gatherer Invincible Hymn does work. The Hymn effect causes you to gain life, not mystically alter your life total. As I consider updating the deck list for the combo I thinking that is isn’t as simple as cutting a few spells and slapping in they Hymn.

I’m actually thinking about how to play Hymn for free. In an extended environment I could play Windbrisk Heights and Spectral Procession or something (needs more creatures). A quick switch to this deck would be to cut 4 Zealous Persecution and add 2 Day of Judgment and 2 Invincible Hymn.

Comments»

1. qqq - January 23, 2010

I like the idea building a deck around Sanguine Bond. I’d also toss in my ultimate favorite quick life gainer: Congregate. Would go very well after the Covenant, or if you play the deck multiplayer. Also, perhaps an Enlighted Tutor, too? Just a thought.

2. Scitzophrenic - January 23, 2010

Btw, if you check on gatherer, your combo does in fact work. According to Gatherer,

“For your life total to become the appropriate number, you actually gain or lose the necessary amount of life. For example, if your life total is 20 and your library has thirty-two cards in it when Invincible Hymn resolves, Invincible Hymn will cause you to gain 12 life. Other cards that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with Invincible Hymn accordingly”

.

Norm - January 23, 2010

Outstanding! The deck just got 100% better. I’m going to have to revise this list to power out the combo.

3. Worldwake White Review « Casual Magic - February 4, 2010

[…] I first saw this card I immediately thought of my Sanguine Bond deck from a few weeks ago. Dropping this spell at the end of an opponents turn keeping your mana open […]


Leave a Reply

