jump to navigation

52 Decks – Memory Sculptor March 5, 2010

Posted by Norm in 52 Decks.
Tags: ,
trackback
Deck 8 - Memory Sculptor

The flavor text on Relic of Progenitus reads:

Elves believe the hydra-god Progenitus sleeps beneath Naya, feeding on forgotten magics.

Feeding on forgotten magics. Seems pretty powerful, if it is good enough for the most ridiculous creature ever then it is good enough for me. Lets forget some magics and lets start with Selective Memory.

Mind Eraser

First the brief back story. Last week I was play testing Mono White Allies with Erik and he mentions he’s got this killer Jace deck idea. He doesn’t extrapolate just keeps playing is Naya junk deck. A few moments later he whispers, I need Jaces!, almost like he’s asking me for crack. I’ve seen what the sight of a Jace, the Mind Sculptor can do to people.

Finally he fills me in on his deck idea. Play Jace, play Polymorph, play Progenitus, and play Selective Memory. Basically he’s got an idea for a U/W splash for red that Polymorphs into the Naya god. I wasn’t completely feeling his card selection but I really like the idea of using Selective Memory to ensure you hit Progenitus with your Polymorph.

Card Breakdown

To me, Selective Memory is one of those cards like Ad Nausum, once exploited, will be the key to some serious card moving power. The key in this deck is to play it once you are stabilized and can play your combo protected.

I chose green to play the regeneration creatures. The thought is to use creatures with regeneration to keep them out of the way of wrath and other destruction. The plan is not fool proof as Marsh Casualties is the greatest threat.

I’m running a complete package of removal and I wish I could fit in Dispell. Explore could get cut but I know blue needs card drawing to stay ahead and I’m woefully lacking in this list. However I’m relying on Treasure Hunt and Jace to get me there.

Finally the Planeswalkers. Jace is kind of a given as was part of the original theme. Garruk is there to help me stay ahead on mana and create extra blockers as needed.

Well here is the deck list. As always your comments are welcome.

9 creatures
4 Cudgel Troll
4 River Boa
1 Progenitis
26 other spells
4 Treasure Hunt
3 Selective Memory
4 Negate
3 Essence Scatter
2 Explore
4 Cancel
3 Polymorph
2 Jace, the Mind Sculptor
1 Garruk Wildspeaker

25 land
4 Halamar Depths
4 Seaside Citadel
4 Misty Rainforest
4 Khamili Garden
3 Dread Statuary
3 Island
3 Forest

Comments»

1. Robert - March 5, 2010

The only two flaws I can spot after a quick glacé is that you’re going to hit counterspells and wrath effects. Also aggresive flyer decks will cakewalk over your lack of flying defense, which could be fixed through subbing in a few Deadly Recluse for a River Boa and a Cudgel Troll.

2. Erik - March 6, 2010

I need Jaces!

I think the splash red was something I didn’t think through. It was a bit pointless.

I’d be more inclined to run white instead of green, or add it in as a third color. I feel like Day of Judgement, Paths, and the Celestial Colonades would fit into this strategy a little better, but that’s just me. Plus for the Jund/Vamp match ups you’d have Celestial Purges to sideboard in and if you where to keep green Sable Stags are always great to have around. That goes without saying of course. Just some food for thought.


Leave a Reply

